Skip to content

This isn’t really fun

February 11, 2009

I may be new to the pregnancy game but I was pretty sure I knew what I was getting into. I never had rose colored glasses on and thought pregnancy would be this awe-inspiring experience. I was prepared for it to suck. I think most of my apprehension came from watching my cousins go through it – both had extreme difficulties “staying” pregnant. So when I finally managed to get in the game I (thought I) was prepared for the worst. The first couple of months were rough, I was fairly sick but nothing compared to what some go through. Then like magic one day I woke up and the crazy indigestion/heartburn and constant nausea were gone. I hadn’t even gained any weight and was just beginning to show. That was 8 pounds ago…

Now its a whole different story. There are some parts of this ride that I either didn’t know about or didn’t realize would affect my day to day so much. Such as:

1. They warn you about the tiredness but I failed to realize simply walking to the bathroom would cause me to be short of breath and wheeze, this is embarrassing when I try to actually walk to a person’s desk and communicate clearly with them.

2. I had no idea 8 little pounds would make me move so awkwardly. I already feel as though I’m wadling – badly. I do not move gracefully at all.

3. The constant sinus “issues” are enough to wear a person slick, especially when you can’t take good drugs.

4. I’m having horrible cases of “pregnancy brain”, I’m surprised I remember my own name most days.

5. I realized that being pregnant was a drain on the mother I did not realize it was basically the equivalent of housing a parasite for 9 months.

6. I can no longer put on underwear after a shower without looking like I’m doing some sort of acrobatic trick. I was prepared for the loss of dignity in the delivery room, I was not prepared to lose it at 5 1/2 months.

What concerns me the most about all of these is the fact that it is basically guaranteed to get worse as the days creep by.

All that said I am extrememly grateful to be growing a baby. I am so lucky and so blessed to have been able to get (and stay) pregnant so easily. I am so thankful that all I have had to deal with are minor annoyances so far. For all of those out there struggling with what came so easy to me, my thoughts and prayers are with you each and every day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammanthia permalink
    February 13, 2009 12:28 am

    You just reminded me why I don’t want more kids… it has nothing to do with not wanting more kids,I just don’t want to have to go through pregnancy again.;
    Good luck… it’s totally worth it!

  2. Missy permalink
    February 14, 2009 10:54 pm

    Yeah pregnancy sucks. Just wait til complete strangers feel like they are entitled to rub your belly. I felt like I would do one of 2 things, run away or punch the next person who tried to touch me.

    BTW, pregnancy brain doesn’t go away after you deliver… Just trying to prepare you. I have 2 girls, the youngest being almost 5. I stand in the middle of a room on any given day asking myself “why the hell did I come in here?”

  3. Peggy permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:14 pm

    I have to agree with Missy on this one…pregnancy brain is permanent…sorry!

Leave a Reply

