Skip to content

Who Knew A Manicure Could Lead To So Many Giggles

February 13, 2009

I had pretty much the worst “work” day I’ve ever had today. There was a period of time where I seriously contemplated marching into my bosses office and giving my two weeks notice. When you take into account I am leaving after I have my baby in June, it might not sound that earth shattering but I work in an accounting firm and needless to say this is not the time of year to be leaving. I can’t imagine the chaos that would ensue. Anyway…getting back to the point…

I’m going to a tropical themed party tomorrow night and that means wearing a skirt and flip-flops. Lets just say that my toes haven’t seen any “proper” care for several months, and I’m to the point now where I can’t tend to them myself, I simply can’t reach. So off I went to the mall after work to get the toe-sies done up. I walk in and the only other customers are two young boys, I would venture aged 7 to 10. They were both getting their toes done too. I was lucky enough to get the seat between them.

I had planned on sitting back closing my eyes and turning on the massage chair, needless to say the relaxing did not happen. Funnily enough it turned out to be just what I needed. Those two little boys were having the time of their lives getting their toes worked on. Their giggles were very infectious. When the guy started in on one of them with the “buffer”, you know the one that is agony if you are ticklish, the poor little boy nearly fell out of his chair from laughing and squirming. When the mom returned (she had just run to Penney’s apparently) the younger one proceeded to tell her how his toe had gushed blood when his cuticle was cut (because he was squirming no doubt). The poor mom was embarrassed as she looked around to see if anyone had heard him. When she caught my eye we both dissolved into laughter.

Turns out having a pedicure with two young boys is excellent therapy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

