Skip to content

I am absolutely not being political here.

February 18, 2009
I have no intention of writing political fodder here on my blog, mostly because I don’t consider myself educated enough to do so. Sure I have my opinions but often times I don’t feel like I know enough about  both sides of the equation to start spouting off at the mouth. I waiver a lot on my feelings towards the war especially, there are days I’m for it and days I wish we could just bring our “guys” home. I do believe that the media doesn’t do a good job of telling the whole story. I personally know someone who was over there for two years and I can tell you that there are things he has told me I’ve never seen on a news report. Regardless of how a person feels about the war and whether they think it’s right or wrong I strongly believe that every soldier should be supported. The soldier doesn’t have the luxury of deciding which battles he has a moral/ethical belief in, they go where they are told and do what they are ordered. Each and every one of them deserves nothing less than our utmost respect. **stepping off the soapbox**


He  clutches the cross hanging on his chain next to  his dog tags.

You  talk trash about your ‘buddies’ that aren’t with  you.


 

 
He  knows he may not see some of his buddies  again.



You  walk down the beach, staring at all the pretty  girls.
He  patrols the streets, searching for insurgents and  terrorists.

You  complain about how hot it is
He  wears his heavy gear, not daring to take off his  helmet to wipe his brow.
 
 
 

 
You  go out to lunch, and complain because the  restaurant got your order wrong.
He  doesn’t get to eat today.

Your  maid makes your bed and washes your  clothes.
He  wears the same things for weeks, but makes sure  his weapons are clean.

You  go to the mall and get your hair redone.
He  doesn’t have time to brush his teeth today.

 

 
You’re  angry because your class ran 5 minutes  over.
He’s  told he will be held over an extra 2  months.

 


You  call your girlfriend and set a date for  tonight.
He  waits for the mail to see if there is a letter  from home.

You  hug and kiss your girlfriend, like you do  everyday.
He  holds his letter close and smells his love’s  perfume.

 

You  roll your eyes as a baby cries.
He  gets a letter with pictures of his new child, and  wonders if they’ll ever meet.


You  criticize your government, and say that war never  solves anything.
He  sees the innocent tortured and killed by their own  people and remembers why he is fighting..

You  hear the jokes about the war, and make fun of men  like him.
He  hears the gunfire, bombs and screams of the  wounded.

 

You  see only what the media wants you to see.
He  sees the broken bodies lying around him.


You  are asked to go to the store by your parents. You  don’t.
He  does exactly what he is told even if it puts his  life in danger.

 


You  stay at home and watch TV.
He  takes whatever time he is given to call, write  home, sleep, and eat.

You  crawl into your soft bed, with down pillows, and  get comfortable.
He  tries to sleep but gets woken by mortars and  helicopters all night long.
 

REMEMBER  our Troops, and do not forget them LATER



8 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany permalink
    February 23, 2009 3:19 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I want them ALL home more than anything, but while they are stuck there, I think we should all support them!

  2. Julie@Cool Mom Guide permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:17 pm

    Shit, why’d you have to make me cry? I’m taking a part of this post and putting it on my site with a link to you this week. Thursday maybe if you don’t mind.

  3. Peggy permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:58 pm

    Holy Shit Jen! AMEN to that! GREAT post!

  4. Peggy permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:00 pm

    PS – You need to put a StumbleUpon link on your blog cuz I’d Stumble the crap outta that one!

  5. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick) permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:03 am

    Julie had part of this posted on her blog to send us over here…wow…what a powerful post!

  6. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick) permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:03 am

    Julie had part of this posted on her blog to send us over here…wow…what a powerful post!

  7. Athena09 permalink
    March 3, 2009 5:14 pm

    Thank you for posting this – I wish more people thought of and remembered the Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Marines we have serving not just in Iraq but all over the world.

  8. Athena09 permalink
    March 3, 2009 5:14 pm

    Thank you for posting this – I wish more people thought of and remembered the Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Marines we have serving not just in Iraq but all over the world.

Leave a Reply

