Skip to content

Ughhh…why with the drama

February 26, 2009

**warning** this post may contain language and subjects that could be construed as HIGHLY offensive, for that I apologize. If cursing in particular is not your thing I will not be offended if you just click away from here without reading.

Dear Former Family – You f@cking suck, really and truly I’m as close to absolute hate as I think I have ever been. Please follow the lemmings off a cliff soon….

I would love nothing more that to tell this whole story and lay out all the facts but honestly I don’t know that I could do that, mostly because I don’t always get the “full” story. The long and short of it is my Dad is a partner in a family farm, has been for the past 40 years, his brother, brother-in-law and him. A year and a half ago my grandfather, his father, passed away, it was shortly after that when things went to hell in a hand-basket. The brother, we’ll call him C, decided that he no longer wanted anything to do with the family and he wanted out of the corporation. What took place after that was a lot of snap/emotional decisions, faulty advice from a bad lawyer, and oral as opposed to written agreements. Needless to say things got messy in a hurry.

Over a year later we are still “negotiating” to get C out of the corporation. At this point it is almost certain to go to court because we are unwilling to meet his demands. Mind you his demands are those of a fucking lunatic. Case in point after he decided he wanted out he went and took out huge operating loans so he could “farm on his own”, all the while farming ground that wasn’t even legally his yet. He went so far as to put up grain bins on ground that was possibly going to go to him after a settlement was reached. Well now one of his demands is that we pay him $24,000 – to pay the damn interest on his operating loans. Is it just me or is that completely asinine?

I could go on for days about all the ridiculous demands but that really isn’t the point and honestly would just upset me more to rehash it all. What bothers me the most is the levels of hate this whole situation has made me feel. I hate that he is constantly attacking my dad’s mental capacity to anyone and everyone around town. I hate that he and his children verbally threaten to “come fucking after” my aunt and her family. I hate that “being the bigger person” has led to him and his family basically getting away with all of it. I hate that today I actually said the words “I wouldn’t feel bad if he died” outloud and meant them. Somewhere deep in my head or maybe my heart there is a voice saying that I don’t really mean it and that its just the hurt talking but I can’t honestly say that I believe that.

After negotiations fell through today and another threatening call and another visit from the cops it is more than likely that this will be decided in court. I want to have faith that going to court is the chance for us to get a fair settlement but I just don’t know if I have that kind of faith in the system. What if they decide that the only thing to do is sell the whole thing and split the proceeds three ways. Even if selling out made my parents enough money to retire (which it won’t) I think it would literally kill my dad to lose the farm.

I’m scared for what the future holds and there is really nothing I can do but wait and see what happens.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. willtherebecake permalink
    February 26, 2009 4:29 am

    I think you should egg his car and TP his house. And that’s the mature side of me talking šŸ™‚

  2. willtherebecake permalink
    February 26, 2009 4:29 am

    I think you should egg his car and TP his house. And that’s the mature side of me talking šŸ™‚

  3. Perksofbeingme permalink
    February 26, 2009 1:18 pm

    I agree with will there be cake. I think egging a car and TPing is a great revenge. Sometimes I like to believe that people have some small amount of common sense and kindness, but it hurts me to see more and more how I’m proved wrong.

  4. Perksofbeingme permalink
    February 26, 2009 1:18 pm

    I agree with will there be cake. I think egging a car and TPing is a great revenge. Sometimes I like to believe that people have some small amount of common sense and kindness, but it hurts me to see more and more how I’m proved wrong.

  5. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick) permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:10 am

    Situations like that suck royally! I agree that it is asinine that your uncle thinks everyone else should pay the interest to the loan HE took out to remove HIMSELF from the whole partnership…hopefully a court will see it the ‘right’ way and side with your dad.

  6. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick) permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:10 am

    Situations like that suck royally! I agree that it is asinine that your uncle thinks everyone else should pay the interest to the loan HE took out to remove HIMSELF from the whole partnership…hopefully a court will see it the ‘right’ way and side with your dad.

Leave a Reply

