Skip to content

The Ultimate Wife Sin

February 27, 2009

Sometimes I’m truly amazed at just how BAD of a wife I really am. Honestly I feel sorry for my husband sometimes. It’s bad enough that I don’t cook – no really I don’t – and have no desire to learn but I’m also not very good about cleaning the house. Pretty much the only thing I have going for me in the “domestic wifey” column is the fact that I keep our bank account in the black and he really doesn’t have to worry about the bills getting paid. He asks me if we can afford such and such and he can totally trust my answer. (side note: I hardly ever say no to a request just out of spite – hence the new $500 shotgun in the closet) However yesterday…oh my god…I crossed a line…a big one…

So there we were just chillin in the living room watching our beloved Illini basketball team. We are both pretty big sports fans and diehard Illini fans. It’s about mid-way through the game and the announcers are talking about how one of the differences in the game has been the “points in the paint”. This is the conversation that took place…

Him: so when they say points in the paint they mean the area below the free-throw line right?
Me: …are you kidding me…you don’t know what the paint is…how the hell can you call yourself a true fan…(lots of laughter)
Him: **angry silence**

He refused to speak to me for 10 minutes.

Lesson – If you husband is a sports fan and you happen to know more about a particular game or the lingo of said game you should NOT make fun of him when he doesn’t. Next time I will just keep my big mouth shut.

***UPDATE: I’m not sure if I was exactly clear…my husband wasn’t actually mad at me for making fun of him it was just a conversation that I thought was rather funny because really how often do wives have to school there husbands about sports…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Missy permalink
    February 28, 2009 3:31 am

    Well there are lots of times when they know something we don’t, and probably should know. Many a man has looked at his wife in dumbstruck awe that she could be so clueless. So it’s not all bad when a man gets made fun of… as long as it doesn’t happen to often.

    Missy

  2. Missy permalink
    February 28, 2009 3:31 am

    Well there are lots of times when they know something we don’t, and probably should know. Many a man has looked at his wife in dumbstruck awe that she could be so clueless. So it’s not all bad when a man gets made fun of… as long as it doesn’t happen to often.

    Missy

  3. Designher Momma permalink
    February 28, 2009 2:04 pm

    I would have done the same thing. He should be proud of having such a well versed sports fan for a wife. he’ll get over it…

  4. Designher Momma permalink
    February 28, 2009 2:04 pm

    I would have done the same thing. He should be proud of having such a well versed sports fan for a wife. he’ll get over it…

  5. Keely permalink
    March 3, 2009 1:38 am

    Yeah, we have to hold in our eye rolling a LOT. I’m sure it wasn’t THAT emasculating for him 😉

  6. Keely permalink
    March 3, 2009 1:38 am

    Yeah, we have to hold in our eye rolling a LOT. I’m sure it wasn’t THAT emasculating for him 😉

  7. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick) permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:06 am

    LOL! That’s too funny…sounds like how my hubby would react if I had to verse him in something he technically *should* know…(snicker!)

  8. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick) permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:06 am

    LOL! That’s too funny…sounds like how my hubby would react if I had to verse him in something he technically *should* know…(snicker!)

Leave a Reply

