Skip to content

Hot by Blogher – Week 1 Challenge

March 21, 2009

I admit it, this week I took the path of least resistance. I opted for challenge number three, the personal challenge, and let me tell you why. I have a lot going on right now, I’m 28 weeks pregnant and I work in a tax/accounting office. Basically that means that by putting in 9-10 hours at work every day and working on Saturdays I’m actually “taking it easy”. Last tax season I worked 11-12 hour days and 6-8 hours on Saturdays. My overall energy level has been squat lately and yet when I come home I’ve been trying to organize the house and get the baby’s room ready. Between that and keeping up with the interwebs who has any time!

So this week I really concentrated on taking a half hour a night to just completely relax. I shut the laptop, turned off my phone and just sat quietly. Most of this time I spent with my husband though not by myself. He’s getting ready to be out of town during the work week for the next four weeks so I think we both really needed to get in some quality time. As a result I’m wicked behind in my reader, I haven’t posted anything since last tuesday and I’ve been a really poor commentor on other sites. However, I could tell a marked difference in both my mood and my hubby’s mood. We both seem to be a little more calm and our fuses with eachother are definitely longer.

Overall it was a pretty good week. I have to go have the 3-hour glucose test today because my first test showed high blood sugar amounts so I’m guessing that next week I will take on whatever sort of food challenge there is because I see a restricted diet in my near future.

Hope everyone is doing well!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    March 21, 2009 2:30 pm

    Spending time with your husband can still be “you” time if you know you need to reconnect with him. I’m sure it felt relaxing to be offline for a little bit, too!

    And don’t worry, future challenges will still try for a mix of harder and easier tasks, so you can choose which best fits you for the week.

  2. Christina permalink
    March 21, 2009 2:30 pm

    Spending time with your husband can still be “you” time if you know you need to reconnect with him. I’m sure it felt relaxing to be offline for a little bit, too!

    And don’t worry, future challenges will still try for a mix of harder and easier tasks, so you can choose which best fits you for the week.

  3. Sammanthia permalink
    March 23, 2009 2:50 pm

    I’ve been turning off the laptop more and more lately. It’s good to take a break once in a while. The internet is a total time suck.

  4. Sammanthia permalink
    March 23, 2009 2:50 pm

    I’ve been turning off the laptop more and more lately. It’s good to take a break once in a while. The internet is a total time suck.

Leave a Reply

