Skip to content

Why I Love Bad Weather

May 4, 2009

I used to love a good thunderstorm just because I liked to watch the lightning and the sound of the rain on the windows. My love for storms has only increased in the past four years only these days I get seriously annoyed if the storm fails to produce a power outage. Now before you go all ape shit on me and call me sadistic understand this, when the lights go out so does my husband. He works for the power company as an electrical lineman. Power outages equal overtime at my house and yeah we like the overtime.

The drawback is that I worry about him when he is working storm damage, it is generally not the safest conditions to be working in. In late January this year a big portion of the midwest was hit with a vicious ice storm and Ryan went to work.

Ryan is one of those rare individuals who not only loves the job he does but takes great pride in his work. He doesn’t mind working 16-18 hour days because of the adrenaline rush it gives him to “turn the lights back on”. I know it can be very frustrating to be a customer out of power but please try to remember that it takes more than just “flipping a switch” or “reconnecting a line” and trust me being snotty with the lineworkers is going to get your house pushed to the back of the list .

Now here are some pictures for you to enjoy 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammanthia permalink
    May 4, 2009 6:08 pm

    Yep, that definitely looks familiar. I’m one the people that linemen just LOVE because I bring them coffee or whatver. I’m not above kissing a little butt just to have my power turned back on a little sooner. It works, too.

  2. Swoozie permalink
    May 6, 2009 3:44 am

    Electrical Linemen have dangerous jobs—but then you don’t need me mentioning that! Ack! Sorry!
    Ice storms are the worst! It’s amazing what havoc they can create…..

Leave a Reply

