Skip to content

Chase – Month 1

June 22, 2009

Chase

I waited for you for 8 months, I waited on pins and needles, I waited impatiently, and then I wasn’t in the slightest bit ready. I should have seen the signs that day. I should have seen it (well you) coming. I hadn’t felt well for a few days. All day I had been having trouble breathing, you were not so kind to my organs. I was starting to panic because your room wasn’t completely ready. I managed to paint my toenails because I was tired of having ugly feet. It was NOT easy to reach my feet trust me. The real sign however, the one that should have “turned on the lightbulb”, was the mopping of the floor. You will learn quickly that I’m more than just a little challenged when it comes to all things domestic.

Your dad was out playing golf with a co-worker who was visiting town. I had just finished putting together your pack-and-play. I thought perhaps I should lay down for awhile just in case your dad brought home company for supper. I had just gotten comfortable on the couch with my piles of pillows and blankets when I realized I had to go to the bathroom. I was beyond annoyed with you just then because really getting comfortable was a process at that point. I’ll spare you the gritty details but I quickly realized that I didn’t in fact have to go the bathroom but that my water had broke. If you have ever seen the movie Austin Powers consider the scene after he “wakes up” from being frozen. Lets just say I had a few minutes to collect my thoughts while sitting there. I remember repeating to myself “holy shit…I’m not ready…oh crap”.

The tricky part was calling your dad, he was still golfing see. Now your dad has a tendency to overreact sometimes so I knew I had to be careful. I called and just told him that I thought my water had broke and that he should probably come home so we could go to the hospital and have it checked out. I didn’t find out until later that he had left his friend on the 9th tee, seriously he just left him at the course. I’m still not sure exactly how he got back to his hotel. Maybe next month I’ll tell you all about the shenanigans at the hospital.

It doesn’t seem possible that you’ve been here for a whole month. Its kind of been a whirlwind. Next week will actually be the first time you and I spend any real time alone. Your first few days at home were not easy. The nurses desk at the hospital called not 2 hours after we had got you home to tell us that we had to bring you back the next day for blood tests. It seemed that you were a bit jaundiced. We continued these daily trips for blood tests for 5 days. As if that wasn’t bad enough we had the bili blanket to contend with. Let me just say you did not like that thing and you made that pretty clear to us. Dad stayed home with us that first week then it was up to the Grandma’s. Lets just say that at this point I’m looking forward to having you to myself.

The first thing people tell you when you’re going to have a baby is how much it will change your life, and rightly so, you have completely changed our lives. I’ve had plenty of people tell me that I’m the most laid back new mom they’ve ever seen and I think they are right, I feel pretty laid back with you. You make it really easy, you really are a good baby. Thats not to say you don’t have your moments but I always (almost) know what the problem is. You have no patience and unfortunately my temper when you aren’t getting what you want. You get the hiccups all the time and you sound like a little bird. Last week I had to put away a couple of your sleepers, tonight after your bath I had to put away three more. I cried. You looked so big as I sat there rocking you to sleep. I know its only been a month but to me its been an eternity. I love you with all the pieces of my heart.

Love
Mama

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Perksofbeingme permalink
    June 22, 2009 2:24 am

    I can't believe my monkey is this old. He's seriously breaking my heart here. I love him so much.

  2. Janet permalink
    June 22, 2009 2:24 am

    Happy one month birthday to your baby and happy one month mom birthday to you 🙂

  3. jenny from mommin' it up! permalink
    June 22, 2009 2:24 am

    oh my goodness! so sweet! my uterus just skipped a beat!

  4. Missy permalink
    June 22, 2009 11:25 am

    These things, the way you feel right now, are important. Save them, go back and read them every so often. Because before you know it, they will be going in to kindergarten, and you will be standing on the porch wondering where all the time went.

  5. Amazing Greis permalink
    June 22, 2009 12:04 pm

    OMG! He's so freakin' adorable. The yawning picture, melts my heart.

    Happy 1 month birthday little one!

  6. Sam permalink
    June 22, 2009 10:52 pm

    I am in love.

  7. Sarah @ Ordinary Days permalink
    June 25, 2009 9:37 pm

    Has it seriously been a month already? Can't wait to hear the hospital shenanigans!
    And also, he is so absolutely adorable!

  8. June 30, 2009 1:50 am

    I want to squeeze him! Adorable!!

Leave a Reply

