Skip to content

I have a dirty little secret

September 4, 2009

I am ADDICTED to TV.

No really.

It’s Bad.

I watch TV all day long, it is always on. I keep it on when I’m on the computer, while I read a book, when I’m feeding or soothing the baby at night. (dude I keep it on really quiet at night when I’m with the baby – don’t judge me)

The advent of the DVR has only made my obsession worse. Now I can tape two shows and watch another. That’s three shows at the same time people. I can totally triple stack my tv viewing schedule.

What’s that?

You say you don’t have a schedule?

Fool!

Every year about this time I open up my documents folder and find my “TV Schedule” spreadsheet. Oh yes I do, I schedule my TV viewing so as not to miss anything. I spend an evening pouring over the fall schedules and new show previews on all of the major networks. I put all my “must see’s” and “want to try’s” into a time blocked table.

I probably spend more time on this than I did planning my course load in college – whatever.

Anyway, here is my list of shows:

Sundays
Desperate Housewives
Brothers & Sisters
Mondays
One Tree Hill
Gossip Girl
Dancing with the Stars
Castle
Trauma
How I Met Your Mother
Tuesdays
Melrose Place
The Forgotten
NCIS
NCIS: Los Angeles
Wednesdays
America’s Next Top Model
The Beautiful Life
Glee
Eastwick
Mercy
Criminal Minds
Thursdays
Vampire Diaries
Flash Forward
Grey’s Anatomy
Private Practice
Survivor
The Mentalist
Fridays
Brothers

So tell me, what am I missing? What are your “must see” shows?

Share with me people! Feed my obsession!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 9:31 am

    I have written about this before. I have a problem, too, but I don’t think it’s hurting anyone, so I don’t consider it a problem, but if it becomes a problem that actually hurts people ( like if I hurt my kids if they get in the wya of my shows), I want to be on Intervention with it- but maybe that would be defeating the purpose, I don’t know?

  2. September 4, 2009 9:38 am

    I just got a little boner for you.

    Southland on Thursday
    Mad Men on Sunday
    Big Bang Theory on Monday

    Those are the only blatant ones you’re missing, but I’m sure there’s more.

    Your sister in obsession,
    @@

  3. September 4, 2009 9:54 am

    What? No Two and a Half Men or House? Those are my two faves.

    • jenbshaw permalink*
      September 4, 2009 9:56 am

      We watch reruns of Two and a Half Men religiously, we’ll have to see about getting the new episodes worked in.

  4. kimmad permalink
    September 4, 2009 10:00 am

    I am in awe — a spreadsheet for your TV schedule! I am setting one up RIGHT. NOW.! Can’t believe my little anal-retentive soul hadn’t thought of it before!

    But dude, you gotta watch Big Bang Theory. Epic miss on your list. Sheldon – funniest character on TV right now. Seriously.

    Also, no House? wha?

    I am also a huge Friday fan: Dollhouse, Ghost Whisperer and now Medium! Yay! Love the supernatural, weird & quirky shows. But that’s just me.

  5. Rebecca permalink
    September 4, 2009 11:08 am

    I am exactly like this. This is what I can remember from last year. With a three month old I haven’t gotton to this fall :

    Sunday: Football – All DAY and NIGHT

    Monday: House, The Big Bang Theory, Rules of Engagement, CSI Miami, Two and a half men

    Tuesday:The Good Wife ( looks good anyways) ( & NCIS)

    Wednesday : Gary Unmarried, Cougar Town( looks good), GLee ( Mercy looks good too)

    Thursday: BONES( Reruns of Bones play in the evenings too), CSI: Las Vegas, 30 Rock, The Mentalist

    Friday : Psych

    Enjoy!!!

  6. September 4, 2009 11:53 am

    That’s a lot of TV. I used to be the same way. Somewhere along the way, though, I stopped watching a lot of shows, even though the TV is still always on. It’s usually just as background noise, though.

    Now, aside from Lost (unfortunately still have awhile until that comes back on), most of what I watch anymore are “reality” shows (Wipeout is just hilarious).

  7. September 5, 2009 12:27 am

    Wow. That IS a lot of TV. I’m inspired by your spreadsheet. Not for the same purpose, but if you can do yours for TV, I can do mine for… well, that thing I’ve been needing to do a spreadsheet for.

    The season just wrapped, but since you DVR and they’re repeating the whole thing, try to add Saving Grace with Holly Hunter & Leon Rippy. I think there’s a little room to squeeze it in…

  8. September 5, 2009 7:56 pm

    Damn.

  9. September 6, 2009 1:06 am

    I am so your people. My tv is on all.the.time! I’ve got my schedule of regulars and trying to figure out everything I need to add with the new season. I love my DVR. I wish I had the kind that you can watch from any room though.

    But know what is a lifesaver? hulu! Wish I’d have invented that!

  10. September 7, 2009 11:33 am

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one with a tv problem!!! All of my shows are on your list except you should totally add 90210 & The Amazing Race. I’m sure there are more, my DVR better gear up for the new tv season.

  11. September 29, 2009 4:20 pm

    Oh, honey. I try to get in 40 hours of TV/week, but these kids are all up in my grill, and talking too much (um, Oprah?! SSSHHHHHH!! I don;t even answer the phone…) and it’s so wonderful when kids start talking and stuff, but MAN do they ever interrupt me and my friend, the TV. I hate them for it. If I don’t get something TIVO-like for Christmas this year, I’m soooo getting divorced. For reals.

  12. September 29, 2009 4:22 pm

    And Californication. Jesus lord, that sex-addicted David D. is all hawt like that… LOVE!! Must watch.

  13. Amy permalink
    October 12, 2009 12:09 am

    This will trip you out… (I know that I’m a month late in commenting on this post, but I feel like dropping this bomb anyway.)

    MY HUSBAND AND I DON’T HAVE TV. We had a few channels on an old rabbit eared TV for about a year, but for the most part, we haven’t for as long as we’ve been together, almost 10 years.

    Now, we do have A TV, but we don’t have a thingie that gets us any local channels, nor do we subscribe to cable. Our TV is connected to a VCR and a DVD player.

    If we want to watch football, we go to a bar or restaurant. I watch Project Runway at a friend’s house. We get the important stuff online.

    Guess what we do instead? Well, yeah, we do THAT. but we talk to each other and read stuff and listen to music and get a whole lot more done in a day than the average person.

    That’s all. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

